Illogical and Funny English Langauage


Englishfamilytree
Image via Wikipedia

Can you follow the English Family Tree? And enjoy the Illogical English Language thats about.

  • The bandage was wound around the wound.
  • The farm was used to produce produce.
  • The dump was so full that it had to refuse more
    refuse.
  • He could lead if he would get the lead out.
  • The soldier decided to desert his dessert in the desert.
  • Since there is no time like the present, he
    thought it was time to present the present.
  • A bass was painted on the head of the bass drum.
  • When shot at, the dove dove into the bushes.
  • A seamstress and a sewer fell down into a sewer
    line.
  • The insurance was invalid for the invalid.
  • There was a row among the oarsmen about how to
    row.
  • They were too close to the door to close it.
  • The buck does funny things when the does are
    present.
  • To help with planting, the farmer taught his sow
    to sow.
  • The wind was too strong to wind the sail.
  • After a number of injections my jaw got number.
  • Upon seeing the tear in the painting I shed a
    tear.
  • I had to subject the subject to a series of tests.
  • How can I intimate this to my most intimate friend
  • What are Palindromes?

Ten of the Best Palindromes

Palindromes are interesting because they read the same forwards and backwards.  While phrases are common, complete sentences are rare.  The first palindrome that I saw was: Madam, I’m Adam, then I saw the longer: Madam, in Eden I’m Adam.  Since then Will and Guy have put together ten of the best palindromes:

  • Live not on evil
  • Rise to vote, sir!
  • Do geese see God?
  • Lisa Bonet ate no basil
  • Dennis and Edna sinned
  • Murder for a jar of red rum
  • A man, a plan, a canal, Panama!
  • No, it never propagates if I set a gap or prevention
  • Tim made us sign it ‘Lover’-a revolting issue, dammit!
  • Doc note: I dissent. A fast never prevents a fatness. I diet on cod.

Comment: It is interesting to see what things are done to the English language, it is humourously funny. And if I make a quip about it you may not understand what a quip is. That’s what the dictionary is for? Look it up, you may learn something. Hotdogfish